Dispute Resolution Track

The Dispute Resolution Track at Maryland Carey Law exposes law students to the theory, skills, and practical experience needed to navigate dispute resolution processes in a variety of legal contexts. Although dispute resolution is relevant for all lawyers, the Track is especially appropriate for students who want to pursue careers as complex civil litigators, transactional attorneys, in-house counsel, public policy leaders, or third-party neutrals (e.g., mediators, collaborative attorneys, ombudsmen). Students graduating with the Dispute Resolution Track have completed a minimum of 17 credits from a selected group of courses including core courses, a capstone seminar, an experiential requirement (clinic, externship, or extensive work experience), and a substantial writing requirement.

Mediation Clinic graduates: 

Samantha Chan
Garett Unger
Naila Herrera
Joshua Stewart
Moriah Nkosi
Briana Hulseman
Ashley Sheibaniagdam
Alexa Ain
Hanna Leonard
Paige Taylor

Alternative Dispute Resolution Team graduates

Samantha Chan
Celena Dyal
Kayla Johnson
Monica Kulkarni
Austin Laroche
Thérian (Jung Yong) Lee
Kathryn Martin
Justin Meltzer
Mark Metrey
LeBrit Nickerson
Caroline Scanlon
Garett Unger
Jessica Walsh
Kristin Wells
Levitas Initiative
Jason Christie
Ignacio Atlas Brown

The Honorable Paul A. Dorf Dispute Resolution Award: Alexa Ain

Alexa Ain

Alexa Ain is the 2021 recipient of the Honorable Paul A. Dorf Dispute Resolution Award. First awarded in 2019, the award honors the legacy of Judge Paul Dorf, who was at the forefront of the alternative dispute resolution movement in Maryland. The annual award recognizes a deserving graduating student who has made outstanding contributions to the study and practice of dispute resolution while at Maryland Carey Law.

Alexa ranks among the top of her graduating class and has completed the Dispute Resolution Track. As a student in the Mediation Clinic, she mediated civil cases for the District Court of Maryland for Baltimore City. Throughout law school, Alexa served as a leader and a problem solver in many different contexts. She was Chairperson of the Honor Board for the Student Bar Association, as well as a peer advisor and member of the Entertainment, Arts, and Sports Law Association, the Women’s Bar Association, and the Jewish Law Students Association. She was Managing Editor for the Maryland Law Journal of Race, Religion, Gender, and Class. Alexa served as research assistant for Professor Donald Gifford. While in law school, Alexa gained work experience as an intern at the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, as a summer associate for DLA Piper, LLP, and as a judicial intern for the Honorable Sally D. Adkins and the Honorable Nancy M. Purpura.

After law school, Alexa will be clerking for Judge Kathryn H. Vratil of the United States District Court for the District of Kansas. Following her clerkship, Alexa will return to Baltimore as an Associate for DLA Piper, LLP.

Ronna K. Jablow Summer Mediation Fellow: Kayla Johnson

Kayla Johnson

The Fellowship was established in loving memory of Ronna K. Jablow, an attorney who found her true passion in mediation. After practicing law, she became a community mediator and went on to become the director of the alternative dispute resolution (ADR) program at the Baltimore City Circuit Court. The Fellowship creates an opportunity for law students to address conflicts and social challenges through the lens of community-based dispute resolution.

Kayla Johnson, served as the second Ronna K. Jablow Mediation Fellow during the summer of 2018. Her fellowship supported Community Mediation Maryland, a statewide non-profit of community mediation centers. Emma’s work focused on prisoner re-entry mediation where she provided valuable intake and mediation opportunities to individuals prior to release from incarceration.  Following her summer fellowship, Emma continued to work with Community Mediation Maryland as the Hagerstown Prison Re-entry Mediation Coordinator.

Center for Dispute Resolution (C-DRUM) Faculty and Staff

Deborah Thompson Eisenberg, Professor of Law, Director C-DRUM
Toby Treem Guerin, Clinical Instructor, Associate Director, C-DRUM
Stacy Smith, Director of Special Projects, C-DRUM
Barbara Sugarman Grochal, Director School Conflict Resolution Education Program, C-DRUM
Aisha Samples, Program Specialist, C-DRUM
Quince Hopkins, Director, Erin Levitas Initiative for Sexual Assault Prevention
Ati Alipour, Staff Attorney-Mediator, Mediation Clinic
Teresa Christian, Mediation Clinic Paralegal